The Paris Secret

Author : Lily Graham

Publisher : Bookouture

ISBN : 9781786816276

 

DMCA :

 

About The Paris Secret

The last time Valerie was in Paris, she was three years old, running from the Nazis, away from the only home she had ever known.

Now as a young woman all alone in the world, Valerie must return to Paris, to the bookshop and her sole surviving relative, her grandfather Vincent, the only person who knows the truth about what happened to her parents. As she gets to know grumpy, taciturn Vincent again, she hears a tragic story of Nazi-occupied Paris, a doomed love affair and a mother willing to sacrifice everything for her beloved daughter.

Can Valerie and Vincent help each other to mend the wounds of the past? Valerie isn’t after a fairytale ending, she only wants the truth. But what is the one devastating secret that Vincent is determined to keep from his granddaughter?

An unputdownable and unforgettable story of love, fear and courage in a time of war. Immerse yourself in a Paris where soldiers’ boots echo on cobbled streets and the air is full of whispers. Fans of Before We Were Yours, Kathryn Hughes and The Paris Wife will be absolutely hooked by this beautiful, tragic tale.

Readers are falling in love with The Paris Secret:

WOW that was one brilliant read, definitely up there with my top books for 2018! Superbly written and a beautiful if heart-wrenching at times storyline… It’s a beauty and the granddad and Clotilde are just wonderful characters. Highly recommend, worthy of more than 5 stars!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 Stars.

‘How to put my feelings into words about this book… absolutely one of the best books I have read in 2018… Lily Graham has written one of the best books of the year in my honest opinion! If I could have given this a higher rating that 5 stars I would have done so… truly an unforgettable story!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars.

‘Warning! This book will make you cry and crave the attention of a mangy old cat. It will make you want to head straight to Paris to find this magical bookstore!… The most moving story I’ve read in a long while… Magical… Mon Dieu, I have not wept so much in a while. Such rich characters and vivid scenes. Gorgeously evoked! I fell in love with one of them myself. I bawled at one of the later scenes. But by the end I was smiling and crying. I was an emotional mess all round really. Think I need that mangy old bookshop cat to come alive so I have something to cuddle right now.’ The Book Trail

What a delightful yet sad and heart-breaking story! I loved the back and forth storytelling… The author has quite a talent for painting a picture as it was so easy for me to imagine everything!’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘You really get a sense of Paris as well as sadly the war… Really makes you fall in love with the place… I was gripped… Valerie’s story will have readers totally engrossed and taken on an emotional roller coaster of a ride… A heart-breaking and emotional read that will have you reaching for the tissues more than a few times. Sometimes in happiness and others in sadness. A captivating and beautifully written story that ingrains itself in readers’ hearts and minds.’ By The Letter Book Reviews, 5 Stars

‘This book pulls you in from the start. I love the character of Valerie and the growth of the relationships throughout the story… A quick, sweet read… Overall, a great story.’ Goodreads Reviewer

Readers adore Lily Graham’s writing:

I was hooked… a beautiful story… absolutely amazing!… truly beautiful… even though I did spend most of the time blubbering into my tissues! Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

Gorgeous; reminding me of a Kate Morton novel… I had a difficult time wanting to put down this book most nights; staying up into the wee hours of the morningthis stunning book was a perfect summer read, and I relished every page. Goodreads Reviewer, 5 Stars

I simply adored The Island Villa… This book is beautifully written and I devoured it in a couple of days. A fantastic plot line with strong characters, I can highly recommend it.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 Stars

The Paris Secret Review

I dont think this story reflects the extreme hardships people lived during the war

What a wonderful, yet emotional wrenching story,and so much happiness in finding out life’s truths and family and love. Truly a page turner.

Once I was into the story I could feel the tension of living under Nazi rule. So many lives affected in so many ways and always the fear.

A thoroughly enjoyable novel addressing a subject not often dealt with: that of the children born during the war and fathered by occupying soldiers.

Flash back story of girl searching for her true identity. Born in Paris during the second world war, sent to England to be safe, but never told of her true background. Comes to Paris to meet her Grandfather (but in disguise) and so the story unfolds. Nice, easy read.

Enjoyed the story, quick read, loved the history, recommend this book

A very interesting showing the bitter circumstances suffered by the people of Paris during the Second World War. Make sure you have plenty of tissues on hand! Hard to put this book down!!

Great story! Couldn’t wait to get back to reading it every night!

Loved being in Paris with this story. I once visited a very small crowded English bookstore, in Paris. I could picture it through this entire story. Such a lovely story.

An interesting read of love and war and the numerous children born into this conflict and how they paid a price

At the start I wondered where this book was going, and the answer was in a perfect circle. The main story was an interesting and sometimes heart breaking insight into life in Paris during a traumatic period. Being based in a bookshop made it seem more poignant. Paris bookshops always have a romantic feel for me. Well written and very enjoyable.

I enjoyed reading this book. Nicely wrtitten and it flowed well. Believable story.

I enjoyed this book a few twists the story was real. It is a subject that is not talked about – well done

This was a new author for me and I really enjoyed her story. Before long I was into the story and could not put it down. It is full of love, hate, intrigue and sorrow. Definitely a good read!

I loved the setting interested WWII. It really brought it home to how terrible it was fir the French to live under Nszi occupation – and also how duped the Germans were by Hitler ‘s war machine. The fact that I dm hakf Jewish made it even more horrifying to me. How terrible it us that people try to divide human beings by race…which doesn’t matter at all.

Cant put it down! You just want to keep reading it!

I could not put this down and was completely absorbed by the characters. Sadly there was truth to these events that have impacted generations however this allows me to feel fortunate for the life and time in which i am living.

Lovely story and beautifully told. The tragedy of war encompasses so many aspects of life and Lily Graham has taken us through some of these in a very touching story in beautiful Paris.

The Paris Secret by Lily Graham 4.5 Stars I originally bought this book because I liked the cover and it was a WWII story, which I enjoy. It looked so Parisian! This is a story told by the daughter, about her mother, as related to her by her grandfather. The era is WWII Paris, France. Raised by her Aunt in England, Valerie grew up thinking that all her family was deceased. At 20 years old, Valerie discovers that her Grandfather is still alive and living in Paris. Without letting him know who she is, she takes a job as an assistant in her Grandfather’s bookstore. She wants to know why he sent her away and also find out more about her mother and her life during the war. As she discovers more about him and the tragedies he experienced during the war, she also learns a shocking secret about her own past and the reason why her Grandfather sent her away. This story is well written and captivating. The characters are lovable and well developed. This is great read!

I really enjoyed this book, wonderful heartwarming story for someone who enjoys historical fiction.

It is a beautiful look into the tragical past of WWII… it was not white and black as we used to believe! I had tears running down my cheeks. Emotional, engaging and pretty human story! Love it!

I enjoyed the book it i s very nice. ..,